EbikeMetrics

We checked what 112 e-bikes say about battery safety certification. A quarter of them name no standard at all.

Published 2026-08-27

What this is built on: EbikeMetrics model database, 112 of 113 models across 7 brands, product pages read 2026-08-17 to 2026-09-01, certification re-derived 2026-09-01 and the denominator corrected 2026-09-04. 112 models' pages were checked for UL 2271 (battery pack) and UL 2849 (electrical system) by name; pages naming neither were then re-read to classify what they say instead. The 113th, the discontinued Ride1Up LMT'D, is excluded and named in the piece: we have never read a page that is genuinely its own, and counting our missing evidence as the manufacturer's silence is the exact error this article is about.

There are two UL standards people mean when they ask whether an e-bike is “UL certified”, and they are not the same thing.

UL 2271 covers the battery pack — cells, construction, the management system, and how the pack behaves when abused: overcharged, short-circuited, crushed, heated.

UL 2849 covers the complete electrical system as one unit — battery, charger, motor, controller, and the interactions between them.

A bike can be listed to one and not the other. “UL certified” on its own tells you neither. So we read the product page of every model in our database and recorded, per bike, which standards the manufacturer names.

What we found

Of the 113 models across 7 brands in our database, we have read the certification section of 112:

models
Names both standards62
Names UL 2849 only (system)13
Names UL 2271 only (battery)7
Names neither30

So 82 of the 112 name at least one standard, and 30 name neither.

Before going further: “names neither” is not “uncertified”. A manufacturer can hold a certificate and not put it on a product page. What we are measuring is what a buyer can find out from the page in front of them, which is a narrower and more useful thing than what is true in a filing cabinet somewhere.

The one bike that is not in that table

One model of the 113 is excluded, and the reason is the same distinction this piece is about. The Ride1Up LMT’D is discontinued. Its specifications were cleared from our database in September 2026, when we found they had been read from a different product’s page — the URL we had serves the LMT’D V2, a different bike. So we have never read a page that is genuinely the LMT’D’s own, and we have no record of what Ride1Up said about its certification.

That is a gap in our work, not a finding about the manufacturer. Counting it under “names neither” would convert our own missing evidence into the manufacturer’s silence — which is the precise mistake the rest of this article argues against. Until 2026-09-04 one of our own scripts did exactly that, and reported 31 of 113 while this site’s certification page reported 30 of 112. The page was right. Every figure below is out of the 112 pages we have actually read, and the LMT’D is named here rather than counted anywhere.

The 30 are three different things, and the difference is the story

We went back and re-read every page that named neither standard. They fall into three groups that a single “not stated” count would have hidden completely:

What the page actually doesmodels
Claims UL certification without naming a standard18
Names a testing lab, but no standard1
Says nothing at all about certification11

The middle of those is the interesting one, and it is almost entirely one brand.

Himiway puts a badge on every product page that reads:

Safety Certified — UL-certified battery and electrical systems for worry-free riding.

That is a broad claim. It covers the battery and the electrical system, which is the substance of both standards. It just doesn’t name either one. So a reader who wants to know which certificate exists, on what, issued when, cannot get there from the page — and a retailer or building manager who has been told to require “UL 2849” cannot tick the box either.

We are not saying the claim is untrue. We are saying it is unverifiable from the page, and that a brand making the broadest safety claim in our database while naming the fewest standards is a strange place for the industry to have landed.

One Himiway page shows this is a writing problem rather than a missing fact. The A7 Commuter’s FAQ answers it specifically — “The 720Wh Samsung/LG battery is UL2271 certified for safety and reliability” — which is exactly the detail the other seventeen pages leave out. The information exists. It reaches the buyer on one model in eighteen.

At the other end, 11 models carry no certification language of any kind — no standard, no lab, no badge. Six are Ride1Up, four are Aventon, one is Velotric.

Price does not predict this

The obvious theory is that certification tracks price: cheap bikes skip it, expensive bikes advertise it. The data says otherwise, and says it loudly.

Groupmedian price
Names both standards$1,699
Names UL 2271 only$1,595
Names UL 2849 only$1,399
Names neither$1,999

The group naming neither standard is the most expensive group in the database.

It is sharper inside a single brand. Here are all 20 Aventon models we track, most expensive first — step-through variants included, because leaving them out would be us choosing which rows tell the story:

Aventon modelPriceStandards named
Current EXP$5,999neither
Current ADV$3,999neither
Ramblas ADV$2,899both
Level 4 ADV$2,799both
Level 4 ADV Step-Through$2,799both
Aventure M$2,699both
Abound LR$1,999both
Abound SR$1,899both
Aventure 3$1,799UL 2271 only
Aventure 3 Step-Through$1,799UL 2271 only
Level 4 REC$1,799UL 2849 only
Level 4 REC Step-Through$1,799UL 2849 only
Level 3$1,699both
Level 3 Step-Through$1,699both
Pace 5 REC Step-Through$1,599both
Pace 4 Step-Through$1,599both
Soltera 3 ADV$1,499neither
Level 2$1,499neither
Soltera 2.5$999both
Level 2 Step-Through$999neither

The $999 bike names both standards. The $5,999 bike names neither. Whatever is driving this, it is not the price of the bike — the most plausible reading is that it tracks how recently the page was written and by whom, which is its own kind of answer.

Nine models say UL 2849 but not UL 2271

Nine of Heybike’s thirteen models name the system standard and not the battery standard. Their copy is consistent about it — the Ranger 3.0 Pro’s page reads:

UL2849 Certified — Comprehensive safety validation for your battery and electrical system

This is not evidence of an untested battery, and we want to be exact about why. UL 2849 evaluates the electrical system as a whole, and the battery is part of that system. UL 2271 is a listing on the pack itself. The two overlap; they are not interchangeable, and one does not automatically imply the other.

What it does mean is practical: if you are being asked for UL 2271 specifically — and some building policies and insurers do ask for exactly that — a page naming only 2849 will not answer the question, and you will need to ask the manufacturer directly.

Four of Heybike’s models do name both. The Mars 3.0’s FAQ answers it outright: “The Mars 3.0 is UL2849 certified, and their batteries meet UL2271 standards.” That is what a complete answer looks like, and it is on the same site as the nine that give a partial one.

By brand

Ordered by the share of models naming at least one standard.

BrandPages readBoth2271 only2849 onlyNeither
Heybike134090
Lectric eBikes1414000
Rad Power Bikes87010
Velotric2019001
Aventon2011225
Ride1Up197417
Himiway1801017

Each row adds up across the four states, because the first column counts pages read rather than models tracked. The two differ for one brand: we track 20 Ride1Up models and have read 19 of them — the twentieth is the LMT’D above.

Lectric names both standards on all 14 of its models — the only brand in the database with complete, specific coverage. Velotric is 19 of 20.

Ride1Up is the most inconsistent, with models in all four states across one catalogue: an $895 Portola 02 names both, a $2,395 Prodigy v2 names neither.

Himiway names a standard on 1 of 18 models, and as above, this is the brand whose badge claims the most in general terms.

What we are not telling you

Methodology

Every model’s product page was fetched by our own crawler, and the visible text searched for UL 2271 and UL 2849 in every spacing and hyphenation manufacturers actually use (UL2271, UL-2271, ANSI/CAN/UL 2849).

A mention only counts if it claims something. The standard has to appear beside a word that asserts it — certified, listed, compliant, meets, tested to. A standard named in a filter sidebar or a comparison chip is not this bike’s certification. We store the manufacturer’s own sentence for every model we record as certified, and it is shown on the certification table so you can check us.

One standard is never inferred from the other. In practice a UL 2849 listing involves a battery that meets UL 2271. “In practice” is not a certificate, and inferring one would mean publishing a safety claim nobody made.

Silence is never inferred into a negative. A page that does not mention a standard is recorded as not stated. not certified is reserved for a page that says outright that a product is not certified, and no model in the database currently does.

And a page we have not read is never counted as silence. A model whose certification we have never checked is excluded from every count in this piece and named where it matters, rather than being folded into “names neither”. One model is in that state today, for the reason given above. This is the same rule as the one before it, applied to our own evidence instead of the manufacturer’s — a number we cannot stand behind is a number we do not print.

Storefront catalogue data is excluded. Several of these sites embed their entire model line as a hidden data blob, and one of them tags every bike with "ul":"UL 2849". Reading that would have certified an entire range off any single page, so those blocks are skipped.

The three-way split of the 30 was produced by re-reading each page for certification language other than a named UL standard: an unnamed UL claim, a different standard, or a third-party testing lab. An early version of that check reported a testing lab on seven Ride1Up pages because it matched the word “Met” in the phrase “If Conditions Are Met” — the corrected check requires a lab name, and those pages carry no certification language at all.

Pages read 2026-08-17 to 2026-08-27; certification re-derived 2026-08-27. Full per-model detail, with each manufacturer’s exact wording and the date we read it, is at /certification.

Sources